Sweet Potato Mug Cake

It has been too long! Getting caught up in moving houses and a flurry of random activity, I have completely neglected to update this space. Making up for it with this bomb-a#$ creation.

Image

Ever wondered what to eat post-gym? Well what if I told you that this is the ideal time to eat your sugary fix for the day? Yes friends, this is the time to eat that timbit or fruit salad with granola. Personally, I crave carbs post workout so I time my carb load either the night before a big lifting day, or for right after a big lift. It is different for everyone, but here is my favourite interpretation of carb cycling. Easy to understand, this article clearly explains the model of specific-nutrient-nourishment-timing. Again, everyone views diet differently but you will not find any signs of advocacy for a carb-free diet on this blog. That is just a recipe for hangry (state of hungry + angry) and cranky readers and bloggers.

Every week I cook 4 sweet potatoes in the oven on Sunday or Monday night as part of my food prep and cut them in half, storing them in a container to be enjoyed at my convenience throughout a busy week. I have been avoiding late night carbs this week because my stomach has been off, so I have settled on the obvious choice of mug cakes as as a post lunch dessert.

The secret to a good mug cake? Experiment and throw in different things every time. Personally, I love the cake batter texture, so my cakes are a little on the undercooked side. If you want a firmer cake, pop it in for 2.5  or 3 minutes instead of 2. Literally the most delicious, easiest dessert you can make and it has zero gluten, no processed ingredients and no added sugars if you don’t use agave or honey.

Image

Start out with one half of a precooked sweet potato and pop it into the microwave for 2 mins, to get maximum softness.

ImageMash the heck out of the potato with a fork and remove the skin. Add in the following:

1/2 tsp of baking powder

Almond milk until you get a batter-like consistency (2-3 tbsps for me)

2 tbsp egg whites

2 tbsps shredded coconut

Small palm size of 80% choc chips

Mash, baby, mash. Until you form a slightly frothy, lumpy mixture. Sounds appealing, no?

Pop the lot into your mug and pat it down using your fork. Throw it into the microwave for 2 mins and take it out…

Image

Magic I tell you. Who needs flour?

Then the toppings, very important.

My choices of the week are 1 tsp coconut oil, cinnamon and 1 tsp of agave nectar.

ImageEssentially the easiest and healthiest cake you have ever eaten. Take liberty with this recipe and throw in raisins, fruit, peanut butter topping. I am talking WILD ideas here. But if you don’t try this snack after leg day, you are crazy.

Much love on a Friday, just a thought to keep with you as we enter into the weekend

Image

8 comments

  1. Glenda

    This was really good. I thought it needed to be sweeter at first, but then I decided it didn’t need anything. Yum, hit the spot!

Leave a comment